In My Active Kitchen

Having fun in the kitchen and out

My Life at 28

1 Comment

A few weeks ago, I turned 28 years old.  Not typically a milestone for people, this was kind of a big deal to me.  No longer do I really resonate with the “twenty something’s” crowds and articles that have been trending on Buzzfeed and facebook; I can’t really put myself into the “thirty something’s” either.  I feel like I’m kind of limbo, and not just because of my age.

Image

Thankfully, my PBR days are long gone.

Since graduating from University, my personal and professional lives have taken so many twists and turns, I think I need to download a special maps app just to figure it out.  I’ve now lived in three provinces, worked in a few different (all pretty awesome) industries, and I am now dealing with the dreaded sense of where do I go (grow?) from here.  On the flip side, I just married the man of my dreams and I am still on a happy little newly-wedded-bliss-cloud in that respect.

Photo Credit: Yao Photography

Photo Credit: Yao Photography

But then it all comes crashing down: the debt accumulated from multiple cross-country moves and bad luck; the realization that I gave up a dream job- and have yet to replace it- over a year ago; the fact that I am 28 years old, married, and moved back in with my parents working a part-time retail job.  Something I’ve managed to avoid since I was 21.

Life sure is a bitch sometimes.

Honestly, I think the hardest part for me in all this is that I know where I want to take my life. I know what I want to achieve and I can see the big picture: career back on track, the purchase of our first home, finances in order.    But now, I need to figure out what route to take in order to accomplish these goals.

This past year of career uncertainty has been one of the most humbling experiences of my life.  Since the departure from a job “most people would kill to have” I had the arrogant and naïve notion that I could just as easily attain an equally amazing job in a new city where I had next to no connections.  Sure enough, I did manage to find a job, but it “wasn’t good enough for me”.  Whether this was really true or not, it shot me (us) in the foot.  This was followed by a job where I was so unqualified I’m amazed they even hired me in the first place.  That’s not modesty it’s just the honest truth.

Now, in my third city in 2 years, I feel as if I’m back at square one career wise.  My drive to succeed has not changed, but my attitude sure has.  I know that when I finally attain that first step back on the career growth track I will take on the role with renewed appreciation for a job and the value I bring as an employee to the organization.

I’m just hoping that happens sooner rather than later.

My husband hopes so too.

 

One thought on “My Life at 28

  1. Just keep plugging away, darlin’ 🙂 You are an intelligent, experienced, and talented woman; it’s just a matter of time before an opportunity presents itself in some new way, shape, or form.

    PS. I hope you’ve factored in our uber successful gym in your big life plan 😉

Leave a Reply

