In My Active Kitchen

Having fun in the kitchen and out

Taco Tuesday on Wednesday

Leave a comment

Spicy Veggie Tacos

Spicy Veggie Tacos

Dustin and I are big believers in Taco Tuesday.   Actually, I’m just a big believer in anything that includes guacamole.  So what could be better than for me to share a delightfully spicy veggie taco recipe as my first ever blog post?

Rather than use the sodium-ridden spice mixes you find in those store-bought kits, I like to make my own.  So not only can I make it as (excessively) spicy as I want, but I can also control how much salt actually goes in there.

I basically did a mixture of chili powder, cumin, coriander, smoked chipotle spice, smoked paprika, a smidgen of cayenne, and tiny bit of salt to bring it all together.

Oh and then, because I’m an idiot, I figured it would be a good idea to add in a chopped jalapeno, cuz you know, the chili powder, cayenne and smoked chipotle spices weren’t enough.  Word to the wise, you may want to forget I mentioned a jalapeno… with seeds.

What was I thinking?!

What was I thinking?!

Now, before you get your knickers in a twist, yes I will “cheat’ every now and then and use the Yves “Veggie Ground Round” or in this case, “chicken”.  It’s quick, easy and works.  When I’m really motivated, I will sometimes use plain tofu as my starting point, maybe get crazy and add in some black beans and corn.  Today, you get the veggie stuff.

Are you really going to object to these guys?

Are you really going to object to these guys?

Since the “chicken” flavor is a bit lighter than traditional beef or mock-beef filling, I decided to make a mango salsa for a bit of sweet and fresh flavor.  Oh and guacamole, because you don’t serve tacos in this house without guac.

Tacos 6

Look good? Here are the recipes:

Taco Seasoning (you will have leftover, store in an airtight container)

1 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp coriander

1/4 tsp smoked paprika

1/8 tsp smoked chipotle spice

smidgen of cayenne

dash of salt

Combine ingredients together, adjust according to your preferences.

Taco Filling:

1 lb Yves Ground Round

1 tbsp olive oil

1 small onion, diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 tsp Taco Spice Mixture

1 jalapeno, diced (optional!!!)

1/4 c. tomato paste

1/4 c. water

Juice from 1 lime

8-10 taco shells and all the fixins (lettuce, tomato, cheese, etc…)

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add in your onion and garlic and saute until fragrant, about 3 minutes.  Add in your spice mixture, jalapeno, and tomato paste.  Allow to cook down for another 3-5 minutes, until fragrant.  Add in the ground veggie meat, water and lime juice.  Bring to a simmer then reduce heat to medium low and allow to cook through.  Assemble tacos with lettuce, tomatoes, mango salsa, guac and maybe some cheddar if you’re feelin’ in the mood.

Mango Salsa

1 ripe mango, diced

1/2 red bell pepper, finely chopped

2-3 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro

Juice from 1/2 lime

1/2 tsp white vinegar

Combine all the ingredients into a bowl and mix well.  Let it sit for a few minutes to allow the flavors to marinate.

Guacamole

1 ripe avocado

1-2 cloves of garlic, minced

Juice from 1/2 a lime

Dash of salt

Mash the avocado with garlic, lime juice and salt.  Taste and adjust seasonings to your preference.

Leave a Reply

